Who will be awarded the PAJI-NZ 2023? Here is the list of the 20 nominees for the award




Ouagadougou, 11 October 2023: After examining the applications, the PAJI-NZ 2023 Jury deliberated on the basis of the quality and relevance of the investigations submitted for its assessment; the potential impact of the investigations; the journalistic approach; and the presentation of the work. By category, this deliberation is as follows:

  • Print category

Babacar Gueye Diop from Senegal
Bembablin Doumbia from Mali
Boudal Ndiath from Senegal
Gbenga Samuel Salau from Nigeria
Ibrahim Manzo Diallo from Niger

  • Online category

Christian Locka from Cameroon
Hayatte Abdou from Comoros
Manasseh Awuni from Ghana
Momar Dieng from Senegal
Pierre Claver Kuvo from Togo

  • TV category

Amy Sissoko from Côte d’Ivoire
Folashade Ogunrinde from Nigeria
Fransisca Enchill from Ghana
Ibrahim Karanja from Kenya
Manasseh Awuni from Ghana

  • Radio category

Azil Momar Lo from Senegal
Kelly Kanda from Mali
Loukoumane Worou-Tchéhou from Benin
Marthe Akissi Kra from Côte d’Ivoire
Zefania Zulu from Zambia

The awards ceremony in each category as well as the prize for the best production, all categories combined (the SEBGO D’OR), is scheduled for Saturday 21 October 2023 during a Gala evening in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, on the sidelines of the 10ᵉ edition of the International Festival of Freedom of Expression and Press (FILEP).

About PAJI-NZ 2023 Jury

Nominations for the PAJI-NZ 2023 are examined by an international jury of 7 members, including 5 highly experienced professional journalists and 2 civil society actors with the necessary background to impartially assess journalistic works. These members are:

Filomena Silva, Cape Verdean journalist and founder of the Praia-based investigative newspaper Assemana. She was president of CENOZO from 2017 to 2019. She was elected by the other jurors to chair the Jury.

Will Fitzggibon, Australian journalist based in the United States and Global Patnership Coordinator at “The Examination”. A former Africa and Middle East coordinator for the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ), he has led a number of international investigative projects in collaboration with CENOZO, including the Panama Papers, Fatal Extraction, West Africa Leaks, Pandora Papers, FinCEN Files and Shadows Diplomats.

Cris Chinaka, Zimbabwean journalist and senior editor working for Thomson Reuters Foundation. He is a former Chief Correspondent of Reuters News Agency.

Bahija Belmabrouk, deputy editor-in-chief at the Tunis Afrique press agency TAP. She holds a Master’s degree in investigative journalism and is a trainer and teacher of investigative journalism at the « Institut de presse et des sciences de l’information » at Manouba in Tunisia, as well as a trainer in digital, environmental journalism and fact-checking.

Bagassi Koura, a graduate of UC Berkeley’s School of Journalism, is bilingual (French-English) editor-in-chief at Voice of America (VOA). Before joining VOA, he worked as a correspondent in Africa, Europe and the United States, covering international news for the world’s major media networks.

Samuel Appiah Darko, A Ghanaian lawyer and former journalist, he has over 15 years’ experience in the media. He was BBC correspondent in Accra for 5 years. He is a senior partner at Cromwell Gray LLP, a law firm operating in Ghana. He specialises in litigation, criminal law, administrative law, media law and security law.2

Cheick Fall, activist and president of the Africtivistes network, a network of pro-democracy web activists working for social change using digital technology as a tool for civic, social and political transformation.

PAJI-NZ Secretariat

Les commentaires sont fermés